top of page
Search
  • Kirsten Unick

A Day of Life in Olomouc

Here I will take you through a typical day during my life in the Czech Republic!

.

Normally I will wake up anywhere between 9:00 - 10:00 am, we are allowed to sleep in because our classes aren't until 3:00 pm. Normally I have some things to do, so a few of the girls and I will more than likely be at a coffee shop! We take the tram system to get there. We have two main lines to take to get into town, these are lines 2 and 7. Transportation in Olomouc is great, the only issue is that it takes some time. At home we are so used to hopping into our cars and being in control of getting to our destination. This was a large thing that I am now thankful for. Public transportation takes SO LONG, from the dorms to our classroom, it is probably a 25 minute journey. Back at home I can make it to class in 10 minutes, sometimes less if I sleep in late ;). This makes it difficult to run quick errands, and requires a lot more planning compared to back home. Also, some things may happen which you are not in control over. There have been cases where the tram hits a car, it is running late, it is overcrowded, or the entire line is down. These are all scenarios that make getting to school or work much more difficult. You are always running on someone else's time instead of your own, and that is sometimes difficult. After we ride the tram to the city center, we pick out a cafe! Some of my favorites are:

~Kafe Jak Lusk: Home to the best avocado toast you will ever taste, and some pretty dang good acai bowls!


Acai Bowl at Kafe Jak Lusk: one of our favorites!

~Nase Cafe

~Cafe Nicol: this cafe is so convenient as its right next to the dorms....and the laundry mat! We all hang out up here while waiting for our laundry!


My typical coffee order from Cafe Nicol...plus some cheesecake :)

After we spend way too long at the cafe's....we will usually head to class which is just a hop, skip, and a jump away from the city square!


Monument in the middle of one of the square's, it represents the Black Death!

A row of buildings in the square!

A very cool tunnel we walked through almost every day. Occasionally they will paint it white again, and the painters of Olomouc can start over! Pretty neat.

After some long lectures, we head to dinner. We definitely have our favorite dinner places in the city square! A few of them are:

~Opera House


My favorite dish from Opera House - spinach gnocci!


~Napali: by the end of the trip the guys at Napali knew Lauren and I as soon as we walked in!


Lauren and I's absolute favorite place in Olomouc, ironically, its Napalese cuisine!

~Burgr: Some of the best burgers in town! Don't have a picture to justify...but trust me!;)

.

Some of the more traditional Czech foods are:

~Smazeny Syr: translated literally to "fried cheese" this is exactly how it sounds. This is like a big mozzeralla stick basically, very good!

~Svichkova: A traditional dish of meat, sauce and dumplings!


Svichkova

~Rizek: translated to Schnitzel! Very good as well!

These were all dishes that we grew very used to eating while in the Czech Republic! I sure will miss these when I return home.

.

Some of you have asked me what the price comparison to the United States is like here in the Czech Republic. Well, here everything is cheap. Generally, I will spend $5 for a nice breakfast with a coffee. For dinner, I will spend usually $7 with a beer included. A $10 meal here in Olomouc is considered expensive. It is slightly confusing because their money system is so much different compared to the United States. For example, $5 here is about 120 CZK. So it seems like you are spending a lot at first until you figure out the conversion!

.

After we eat we will head back to the dorms! At this time it will be about 8:00 pm at least, so most of the day is gone. We usually spend the rest of the night with friends hanging out in their rooms. This is the funnest time of our day because we get to interact with all the other Erasmus students after they are finished with classes!

.

Pretty simple day, but every weekend is a new adventure in a new place. Therefore, I appreciate the simplicity and routine during my weekdays. It adds a nice contrast to the hectic schedule I have otherwise! :)

Thanks for reading!!

See you all in a week as I return to the states!




15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

What I Wish I Would Have Known

What kind of linens did you bring?: I did not bring any linens, blankets, pillows, etc. with me. The university will provide you with bed sheets, pillow, comforter and you are allowed to change them o

English?

Communication, the largest barrier I've had to adjust to during my time abroad. It is very challenging living in a place where you literally have no idea what people are saying, and you can't read any

bottom of page